The Story Behind the Name

What’s up with the name?

It’s quirky, I’ll admit. What I love about it is that it offers a glimpse into my whimsical, idealistic nature while also capturing a few of my favorite things. I’ll use this first blog post to dive into the meaning.

First off, Lion Lemon is one of my favorite warm-ups for drama and singing (lion face = release the jaw and make eyes large like you’re a lion/lemon face = scrunch up facial features like you’re eating something sour. And repeat). The name of this warm-up activity conveniently captures the creative side of the lessons I offer, while representing a few other meanings as well.

img_9173
Aslan, from C.S. Lewis’s The Chronicles of Narnia

Lions represent a fierce, brave, and victorious spirit. It is a resilient spirit that I believe every single person has the ability to develop when facing a challenging situation. Hands down, it is one of the most inspiring experiences to see someone realize this, and to watch them develop a relentless strength in the face of life’s challenges. I believe that a perspective shift is one of the great ways of releasing this warrior spirit. For instance, this could mean that instead of viewing the trials of life as a test that one must pass, one starts viewing them as unique adventures of learning, growing, and becoming stronger. As the magnificent Aslan declares in The Chronicles of Narnia, “Your adventure begins now”.

img_9174
Like many (including Beyoncé), I am a fan of the well-known phrase, “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade”. I know from experience that different aspects of life come at different levels of ease for each person; we’re each given our own lemons in this journey. However, I’m a faithful practitioner in making the best of what I have and seeing the goodness in anything.

I am thrilled to join others in their journeys of overcoming battles and successfully achieving their personal and academic goals. Whether it’s acing that English paper, nailing that history presentation, or hitting the high notes in that performance, let’s take those lemons and make some fantastic lemonade!

Shellie

Leave a Reply

